• × Premier League Champions League Carabao Cup FA Cup

    You love banter (Get in!��) Matchday odds Contact
    Full Site Mobile

    Lfc Rumour

    Liverpool Fc transfer rumours and news update 24/7

    Search what you heard

    Friday, 29 April 2022

    Liverpool's Mohamed Salah wins FWA award for second time

    Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has won the prestigious Football Writers' Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year award for a second time

    Salah enjoyed a vote share of 48% to scoop the prize ahead of Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne and West Ham United's Declan Rice.

    Elsewhere, Chelsea striker Sam Kerr also won the women's Footballer of the Year award after another stellar campaign. The 28-year-old claimed the prize with 40% of the vote, beating Arsenal striker Vivianne Miedema and Manchester City's Lauren Hemp.

    FWA chair Carrie Brown said: "Both Mo and Sam have been outstanding this season, breaking records for both club and country. As well as their performances on the pitch, they are leaders and standard bearers of excellence at their clubs and respective leagues.

    "The fact they have won by such convincing margins underlines just how impressive they have been this season which has been recognised by our members."

    Both Salah and Kerr will receive their awards on May 5, the FWA said.

    Both players are on course to win the Golden Boot in their respective leagues this season with Salah on 22 goals and Kerr scoring 18.

    Salah has matched Manchester United's Cristiano Ronaldo to win a double of the award after picking up the 2018 prize.

    The Egypt international is on course to pick up his third Premier League Golden Boot award with only Arsenal legend Thierry Henry winning more with four to his name.

    Salah also made Liverpool history this season by becoming the club's first player to score 20 Premier League goals in the three different campaigns.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment