FIFA's plan to extend Club World Cup teams to 32 unveiled


FIFA have invited a new plan for qualifying continental football teams for the Club World Cup tournament

Football governing body FIFA  have reportedly invited a new system that'll use rankings calculated from recent Champions League performances to select most of Europe's 12 clubs to compete in its expanded 32-team Club World Cup tournament to be implemented for 2025 henceforth.

UEFA's club coefficients are calculated based on club's performances in European competition over the past five years.

The invention is currently being discussed between the world football governing body, UEFA and the European Club Association.

Once implemented, Real Madrid will automatically gain qualification for the new-shaped tournament as last season's European champions.

Whereas, Liverpool who've been commanding in the  Champions League since returning to the competition in 2017, reaching three finals and winning one – are also well placed to be among other eight teams tipped  by European rankings to qualify  for the tournament.

Using the coefficient rankings, City will almost certainly qualify as they sits second in Europe behind Bayern Munich, and the other English place will go to the Reds, Chelsea or Manchester United depending on their future performances in Europe.

Post a Comment

Post a Comment (0)

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !